Update to Google Chrome Automatically Logs Users Into the Browser

Evan Lorne/Shutterstock.com

Featured eBooks

The Government's Artificial Intelligence Reality
What’s Next for Federal Customer Experience
What's Next for Government Data

It's a change that may spark privacy concerns for some users.

Google introduced the latest version of its popular browser, Chrome 69, but with a privacy hiccup.

The browser now automatically logs users in whenever they access a Google-owned site, ZDnet reports. The tech giant did not advertise this new function to users. 

Google engineer Adrienne Porter Felt said that this automatic sign-in function does not automatically upload data: 

Felt explained the reason Google included the function was included to prevent mix-ups for those who share computers and browsers with other users. Felt said that user data won't be uploaded unless they turn on Sync, which is the system that connects a user's Google account to the browser, allowing them to upload passwords and history to Google servers.

Sync has been around for several years, so most Chrome users are familiar with it. But many of these users still might prefer to log in to Chrome manually or at least make the conscious decision not to log in to Chrome at all. 

While this concern around this new browser feature might be minor, tech users are increasingly concerned with privacy.  Google has also recently missed the privacy mark when it comes to email and location tracking.