Security company Symantec is warning about a crafty new Trojan Horse that takes advantage of Microsoftâ€™s questionable customer-relations image.
When you restart your PC after the Trojan is installed, a professional and legitimate-appearing Microsoft window appears that warns, â€œYour copy of Windows was activated by another user.â€ It asks you if you want to â€œactivateâ€ your Windows copy, for which the spoofers will need your credit card information.
According to Symantec: â€œYou can only choose only 'Yes' or 'No.' You can't run Task Manager or any other applications. If you choose 'No' your PC will be shut down immediately.â€ If you choose â€œYesâ€ you'll see this image.
Piracy of Windows is a real problem that Microsoft has responded to by ordering onto computers a practically-mandatory verification application. (Going on general principals, Tech Insider avoided running it for a while, but eventually succumbed to Microsoftâ€™s insistence that the application be done.)
â€œThis Trojan teaches us all a good lesson - Trust No One,â€ Symantec concludes.